Papua New Guinea
Checked 2026-09-22 · Version r1 · Reviewed
Public law and official guidance, published as research. Not legal, tax or financial advice.
Ask the research
Alluvial and industrial gold origin. Citizens mine alluvial gold without a tenement on their own land (Mining Act s.9) or under 5-ha Alluvial Mining Leases; domestic gold trade needs no licence, but all gold exports need BPNG consent: an annual Gold Export Licence (9 alluvial exporters and 6 mining companies in 2024) plus a per-shipment Form G with an MRA-certified assay, then a Customs SAD. Proceeds in USD at LBMA spot, repatriated within 2 weeks (alluvial) or 3 months. Royalty 2% of FOB/NSR plus MRA production levy; draft Mining Bill 2025 (5%/10% royalty) and National Gold Corporation Bill not in force on the evidence found. Leakage and smuggling acknowledged by government in 2026.
How sure this page is
- Primary law 15
- Official guidance 47
- Standard 1
- Secondary 7
- Industry practice 6
- Unverified 4
- No confidence level recorded 7
- Researcher's note 27
- Blocked 18
- Not recorded 25
- Text 12
- OCR 2
- Not stated 29
Regulators
Bank of Papua New Guinea (BPNG)
Central bank; administers the Central Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000: Gold Export Licences (annual), per-shipment export authorisation (Form G), export-proceeds repatriation, appointment of authorised foreign-exchange dealers, cash export authority above K20,000
- Website
- https://www.bankpng.gov.pg
No confidence level recordedBlockedPNG Customs Service
Export entry (SAD via ASYCUDA World, lodged by licensed customs broker), enforcement of prohibited-export items (gold needs BPNG written authority), certificate of clearance, currency declaration
- Website
- https://customs.gov.pg
No confidence level recordedBlockedNot recordedDepartment of Mineral Policy and Geohazards Management (DMPGM)
Mining policy; drafted the Mining Bill 2025
No confidence level recordedNot recordedFinancial Analysis and Supervision Unit (FASU), within BPNG
Financial intelligence unit and sole AML/CFT supervisor under the AMLCTF Act 2015, including dealers in precious metals
No confidence level recordedBlockedInternal Revenue Commission (IRC)
Income tax and GST; Tax File Number required on export declarations
No confidence level recordedBlockedMineral Resources Authority (MRA)
Tenement administration (exploration licences, mining leases, alluvial mining leases), production levy collection, small-scale mining support, certification of assays for gold exports; listed by Customs as the permit authority for mineral exports
- Website
- https://mra.gov.pg
No confidence level recordedNot recordedBlocked
Laws
Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Terrorist Financing Act 2015
Dealers in precious metals or stones are DNFBPs (s.5); CDD (ss.20-29); TTR for cash of K20,000 or more (s.39); SMR within 5 working days; records 7 years (ss.47-50)
- Kind
- Act
Official guidanceBlockedResearcher's note: Act not read directly; provisions from FASU guidance.
Central Banking Act 2000 (as amended 2021)
Parent Act of the FX and Gold Regulation; cited by Customs as basis for gold export restriction
- Kind
- Act
Official guidanceBlockedCustoms (Prohibited Exports) Regulation 1963
Schedule item 13B: alluvial gold, concentrates and compounds incl. gold in pure form - written authority of BPNG; item 13A: currency above K20,000
- Kind
- Regulation
Primary lawNot recordedBlockedBPNG Foreign Exchange Manual (December 2023)
FE Notice 17 (gold): domestic trade unrestricted; export >K5,000 needs licence and per-shipment authorisation, on consignment; FE Notice 6: repatriate and convert export proceeds within 3 months; FE Notice 8: K20,000 cash limit for travellers
- Kind
- Guideline
Official guidanceBlockedCentral Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000
s.18 export of goods needs Central Bank authority; s.24 no gold may leave or enter PNG without BPNG written consent; s.25 gold holders must sell within one month to BPNG, an authorised dealer, or (with consent) abroad; s.26 purchase limited to BPNG/authorised dealers; s.33 penalties (K100,000 or 25% of value, or 5 years)
- Kind
- Regulation
Primary lawBlockedMining Bill 2025 (draft, to replace the Mining Act 1992)
Proposed: royalty 5% (State takes up to 30% equity) or 10% of gross revenue; alluvial mining reserved to citizens; mining refinery lease and 50% offer of product to local processors; social licence fee. Consultation 25 Feb-4 Apr 2025. No evidence found that it had been enacted by 22 Sep 2026.
- Kind
- Other
SecondaryNot recordedResearcher's note: Enactment status at 2026-09-22 not confirmed; the June 2026 parliamentary exchange still refers to the MRA Act and the existing regime.
National Gold Corporation Bill 2024 (proposed)
Proposed mandatory refining of all PNG gold by a National Mint before export, state gold marketing and a National Gold Authority. Stakeholders asked for 6-12 more months of consultation in May 2024; not enacted on the evidence found.
- Kind
- Other
SecondaryNot recordedCustoms Act 1951
s.40 prohibited exports by regulation; s.42 goods must be entered for export before loading; s.47 certificate of clearance
- Kind
- Act
Primary lawBlockedResearcher's note: Section numbers from a summarising fetch.
Goods and Services Tax Act 2003
GST; export zero-rating
- Kind
- Act
UnverifiedBlockedResearcher's note: PacLII blocked (403) and IRC site returned no content; rate and export treatment not verified.
Mining Act 1992
Minerals belong to the State (s.5); citizens' non-mechanised alluvial mining on own land (s.9); tenements incl. alluvial mining leases (ss.48-64: citizen or land group, max 5 ha, max 5 years); royalties (s.148)
- Kind
- Act
Primary lawNot recordedMining (Amendment) Act 2020
State entities (Kumul Minerals) may apply for tenements over reserved land; live production/sales data reporting to MRA
- Kind
- Act
SecondaryNot recordedBlockedResearcher's note: Act text not obtained (Parliament URL 404); content from press analysis.
Mineral Resources Authority Act (2005; referred to in 2026 as the MRA Act 2018)
Establishes MRA; production levy up to 0.5% of assessable income (s.30 per DMPGM 2014)
- Kind
- Act
Official guidanceNot recordedOCRResearcher's note: The 2005 Act PDF is a scan without text. The National (June 2026) refers to an 'MRA Act 2018' - whether a 2018 Act replaced the 2005 Act was not verified.
Laws concerning gold in Papua New Guinea
From the law library: the laws tagged with this commodity, with their sources. They are not research findings; the sections above are.
Procedures
Alluvial mining and sale of gold dust to a domestic buyer
Applies when: country is the origin (alluvial / artisanal gold)
Channel: alluvial
- Extraction
Mine alluvial gravels by panning and sluicing on own customary land (no tenement, s.9) or within an Alluvial Mining Lease; recover black-sand concentrate
- Who
- Alluvial miner (citizen landowner or land group; non-mechanised under Mining Act s.9 or holder of an alluvial mining lease)
Primary lawNot recordedLegal basis: Mining Act 1992, s.9(2); ss.48-51
- Processing
Separate gold from the concentrate by panning (mercury amalgamation used in parts of the sector) to obtain gold dust and nuggets
- Who
- Alluvial miner (citizen landowner or land group; non-mechanised under Mining Act s.9 or holder of an alluvial mining lease)
Industry practiceNot recordedResearcher's note: The Minister's update describes panning and sluicing; the extent of mercury use was not documented in any source read.
- Due diligence
Customer due diligence on the seller (identify the miner, risk-rate, screen) and keep records for 7 years
- Who
- Domestic gold buyer (rural buying agent / shop)
- With
- Alluvial miner (citizen landowner or land group; non-mechanised under Mining Act s.9 or holder of an alluvial mining lease)
- Issues
- Gold buyer's CDD record on the miner (AMLCTF Act ss.20-29)
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: AMLCTF Act 2015, s.5; ss.20-29; ss.47-50
- Payment
Sell gold dust to a domestic gold buyer, usually for cash, weighed at the counter; no BPNG authority needed for resident-to-resident trade
- Who
- Alluvial miner (citizen landowner or land group; non-mechanised under Mining Act s.9 or holder of an alluvial mining lease)
- With
- Domestic gold buyer (rural buying agent / shop)
- Needs
- Gold buyer's CDD record on the miner (AMLCTF Act ss.20-29)
- Issues
- Buyer's purchase record / weigh-in (weight, price, seller)
Official guidanceBlockedNot recordedLegal basis: BPNG Foreign Exchange Manual, FE Notice 17, 17.3
Researcher's note: FE Notice 17.3 permits domestic trade without restriction, although Regulation ss.25-26 on their face limit gold purchases to BPNG and authorised dealers; see divergences.
- Reporting
File a Threshold Transaction Report with FASU for a cash transaction of K20,000 or more within 10 working days; file a Suspicious Matter Report within 5 working days where suspicion arises
- Who
- Domestic gold buyer (rural buying agent / shop)
- Issues
- TTR for cash purchase of K20,000 or more
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: AMLCTF Act 2015, s.39
Aggregation by a licensed alluvial exporter, melting and assay
Applies when: country is the origin (alluvial gold, before export)
Channel: alluvial
- Due diligence
Customer due diligence and enhanced due diligence on the gold buyer or miner (BPNG Enhanced Due Diligence Guidelines apply to all gold dealings)
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- With
- Domestic gold buyer (rural buying agent / shop)
- Issues
- Exporter's CDD on the gold buyer/miner and enhanced due diligence
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: BPNG FE Manual FE Notice 17; AMLCTF Act 2015, 17.2; ss.20-29
- Payment
Sell aggregated gold dust to the licensed exporter (often via the exporter's own buying network)
- Who
- Domestic gold buyer (rural buying agent / shop)
- With
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Needs
- Exporter's CDD on the gold buyer/miner and enhanced due diligence
- Issues
- Exporter's purchase record
Official guidanceBlockedResearcher's note: Domestic purchase terms and payment method not documented; bank payment implied by the two-account limit in the licence conditions.
- Processing
Melt gold dust into bars and number them
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Issues
- Bar number / lot reference after melting
Industry practiceBlockedResearcher's note: The Operational Requirements speak of 'dore or fine gold'; melting practice itself is inferred.
- Assay
Assay the bars and issue an assay report certified by MRA (or another competent institution)
- Who
- MRA-certified assayer / competent assay institution
- With
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Needs
- Bar number / lot reference after melting
- Issues
- Assay report certified by MRA or other competent institution
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: BPNG Operational Requirements for Gold Export Licence (2015)
Export of alluvial gold by a BPNG-licensed exporter
Applies when: country is the origin; alluvial gold leaves PNG
Channel: alluvial
- Pricing
Prepare signed pro-forma invoice (expected USD receipts, weight in grams and ounces, LBMA spot USD price) under the refining agreement; sales abroad must be in USD at LBMA spot
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Needs
- Assay report certified by MRA or other competent institution; Refining agreement with overseas refiner (LBMA spot, max 2% discount)
- Issues
- Signed pro-forma invoice (USD receipts, grams and ounces, LBMA spot price)
Official guidanceBlocked - Licensing
Apply to BPNG with Form G, the pro-forma invoice and the MRA-certified assay report for a specific authorisation to export this shipment; BPNG approves the Form G
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- With
- Bank of Papua New Guinea
- Needs
- Performance bond in favour of BPNG; Assay report certified by MRA or other competent institution; Signed pro-forma invoice (USD receipts, grams and ounces, LBMA spot price)
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: Central Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000; FE Notice 17, s.24; FE 17.4(a)
- Licensing
For a consignment worth K5,000 or less: obtain a BPNG clearance on the strength of an assay report from a recognised assayer instead of a licence-based authorisation
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- With
- Bank of Papua New Guinea
- Needs
- Assay report certified by MRA or other competent institution
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: BPNG FE Manual FE Notice 17, 17.4(b)
- Licensing
Obtain MRA mineral export permit, where required
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- With
- Mineral Resources Authority
UnverifiedBlockedResearcher's note: PNG Customs lists MRA as the permit authority for 'minerals', but no MRA gold export permit, form or legal basis was found; for gold the Prohibited Exports Regulation names only BPNG.
- Transport
Pack and seal consignment; commercial invoice and packing list
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
Official guidanceBlocked - Customs
Lodge the export SAD in ASYCUDA World (nature, quantity, FOB value, supplier, origin, TFN) with BPNG written authority attached, before goods are loaded
- Who
- Licensed customs broker
- With
- PNG Customs Service
- Issues
- Export SAD / Form 15 accepted by PNG Customs
Primary lawBlockedNot recordedLegal basis: Customs Act 1951; Customs (Prohibited Exports) Regulation 1963, s.42; Schedule item 13B
- Customs
Verify classification and permits, risk-based physical examination, collect administrative fees, issue release
- Who
- PNG Customs Service
- With
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Needs
- Export SAD / Form 15 accepted by PNG Customs
- Issues
- Customs release notification
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: Customs Act 1951; Central Banking (FX and Gold) Regulation 2000, FX Reg s.19(2) (Customs may require documents to check BPNG compliance)
- Transport
Carry consignment as valuable cargo from Jacksons International Airport (Port Moresby) with air waybill, security declaration and insurance
- Who
- Air carrier / secure logistics provider
- Needs
- Customs release notification
Industry practiceBlockedResearcher's note: Airport and valuable-cargo handling for gold not documented in sources read; standard air-freight documents assumed.
- Customs
Aircraft master presents final manifest; Customs issues Certificate of Clearance
- Who
- PNG Customs Service
- With
- Air carrier / secure logistics provider
Primary lawBlockedLegal basis: Customs Act 1951, s.47
- Transport
Send pre-shipment notice (weights, assay, AWB) to the consignee refiner
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- With
- Overseas refiner / buyer (consignee)
- Issues
- Pre-shipment notification to refiner/buyer
Industry practiceBlocked
Export of doré by a mining company
Applies when: country is the origin; mine doré leaves PNG
Channel: industrial
- Pricing
Agree offtake / refining terms for doré with an overseas refiner (USD, LBMA-referenced)
- Who
- Large-scale mining company (mining lease / special mining lease holder)
- With
- Overseas refiner / buyer (consignee)
- Issues
- Offtake / sale agreement for doré (industrial)
Industry practiceBlockedResearcher's note: Mining companies' offtake contracts not seen; USD/LBMA pricing rule stated for alluvial licensees.
- Licensing
Obtain BPNG specific authorisation for the shipment under the company's Gold Export Licence
- Who
- Large-scale mining company (mining lease / special mining lease holder)
- With
- Bank of Papua New Guinea
- Needs
- Assay report certified by MRA or other competent institution; Offtake / sale agreement for doré (industrial)
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: Central Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000; FE Notice 17, s.24; FE 17.4(a)
Researcher's note: Form of the per-shipment authorisation for mining companies assumed to be the same Form G.
- Customs
Lodge export SAD with BPNG authority; Customs examination and release
- Who
- Licensed customs broker
- With
- PNG Customs Service
- Issues
- Export SAD / Form 15 accepted by PNG Customs; Customs release notification
Primary lawBlockedNot recordedLegal basis: Customs Act 1951; Customs (Prohibited Exports) Regulation 1963, s.42; item 13B
- Transport
Ship doré from the mine (airstrip, port or via Port Moresby) to the refiner abroad
- Who
- Air carrier / secure logistics provider
- Needs
- Customs release notification
Industry practiceBlockedResearcher's note: Logistics per mine not documented.
Large-scale mine production of doré
Applies when: country is the origin (industrial gold)
Channel: industrial
- Extraction
Mine and process ore within the special mining lease / mining lease; pour doré at the mine gold room
- Who
- Large-scale mining company (mining lease / special mining lease holder)
- Issues
- Bar number / lot reference after melting
Primary lawNot recordedLegal basis: Mining Act 1992, ss.33-47
Researcher's note: Product form (doré vs concentrate) varies by mine and was not confirmed per mine in sources read.
- Reporting
Submit live production, extraction and sales data to MRA
- Who
- Large-scale mining company (mining lease / special mining lease holder)
- With
- Mineral Resources Authority
- Issues
- Live production, extraction and sales data submission to MRA
SecondaryNot recordedLegal basis: Mining (Amendment) Act 2020
Researcher's note: Mining (Amendment) Act 2020 text not obtained.
- Assay
Sample and assay doré (mine laboratory or certified assayer) for the export authorisation
- Who
- Large-scale mining company (mining lease / special mining lease holder)
- Needs
- Bar number / lot reference after melting
- Issues
- Assay report certified by MRA or other competent institution
Official guidanceBlockedResearcher's note: The MRA-certified assay rule is stated in the alluvial Operational Requirements; application to mining companies' licences assumed.
Monthly returns, levy and royalty
Applies when: country is the origin; continuing obligations
- Reporting
File Form G2 monthly return with BPNG by the 15th of the following month: Yellow Form G, commercial invoices, customs forms, refiner outturn statements, checked by a senior officer
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- With
- Bank of Papua New Guinea
- Needs
- Yellow Form G completed and stamped by the commercial bank; Refiner outturn statement; Export SAD / Form 15 accepted by PNG Customs
- Issues
- Form G2 - monthly gold export return to BPNG
Official guidanceBlocked - Reporting
Report foreign currency account inflows and outflows on Form-OS
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Issues
- Form-OS - report of foreign currency account inflows/outflows
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: FE Manual FE Notice 17, 17.8
- Tax
Pay monthly MRA production levy (0.25%-0.5% of assessable income; alluvial gold also covered)
- Who
- Large-scale mining company (mining lease / special mining lease holder)
- With
- Mineral Resources Authority
- Issues
- MRA production levy payment (monthly)
Official guidanceNot recordedLegal basis: Mineral Resources Authority Act, s.30(3)-(4) (per DMPGM 2014)
Researcher's note: Who pays the levy on alluvial gold (miner, exporter?) and how it is collected was not found.
- Tax
Pay mineral royalty of 2% of FOB revenue or net smelter return; 20% of cash royalty goes directly to lease-area landholders
- Who
- Large-scale mining company (mining lease / special mining lease holder)
- Issues
- Mineral royalty payment record
Official guidanceNot recordedLegal basis: Mining Act 1992, s.148
Researcher's note: s.148 text not read; collector and payment frequency not confirmed. Royalty treatment of alluvial gold sold through exporters not found.
Refiner outturn, USD settlement and repatriation of proceeds
Applies when: country is the origin; after export
- Pricing
Refine consignment, issue outturn statement; exporter issues final invoice at LBMA spot less agreed discount (max 2%)
- Who
- Overseas refiner / buyer (consignee)
- With
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Issues
- Refiner outturn statement; Final invoice (against outturn assay)
Official guidanceBlocked - Payment
Receive USD proceeds from abroad (only through an authorised dealer); alluvial exporters must repatriate within 2 weeks of export, others within 3 months of shipment; convert to kina with an authorised dealer
- Who
- Authorised foreign-exchange dealer (commercial bank)
- With
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Needs
- Final invoice (against outturn assay)
- Issues
- USD payment from refiner/buyer to exporter's PNG bank
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: BPNG Operational Requirements (2015); FE Manual FE Notices 6 and 17, FE 6.5(a); FE 17.5
- Reporting
Submit Form-X with the licence or BPNG-approved Form G, commercial invoice and Customs-processed Form 15 to the authorised dealer; bank stamps the Yellow Form G
- Who
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- With
- Authorised foreign-exchange dealer (commercial bank)
- Needs
- USD payment from refiner/buyer to exporter's PNG bank; Export SAD / Form 15 accepted by PNG Customs
- Issues
- Form-X submitted through the authorised dealer; Yellow Form G completed and stamped by the commercial bank
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: FE Manual FE Notices 6 and 17, 6.3; 17.7(a)
Licences and registrations
AML/CFT compliance programme as a dealer in precious metals (no licence; FASU supervision)
- Held by
- Domestic gold buyer (rural buying agent / shop)
- Issued by
- FASU (supervisor)
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: AMLCTF Act 2015, s.5
Citizen ownership (Alluvial Mining Policy 2021 reserves buying and export of alluvial gold to Papua New Guineans, existing foreign operators exempt)
- Held by
- Domestic gold buyer (rural buying agent / shop)
- Issued by
- Policy of the Ministry of Mining / MRA
Official guidanceNot recordedOCRResearcher's note: Policy text itself not readable; how the reservation is enforced for buyers (no buyer licence exists) is not known.
Refining agreement with an overseas refiner (LBMA spot, max 2% discount)
- Held by
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Issued by
- Overseas refiner (counterparty)
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: BPNG Requirements for Gold Export Licence (2015)
Gold Export Licence (alluvial)
Gold Export Licence; name published on BPNG annual list
- Held by
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Issued by
- Bank of Papua New Guinea
- Valid for
- 1 year; new application each year
- Fee
- K5,000 application fee (bank cheque)
Official guidanceBlockedNot recordedLegal basis: Central Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000; BPNG Requirements for Gold Export Licence (2015), s.24 (written consent to export gold)
Gold Export Licence (mining company)
- Held by
- Large-scale mining company (mining lease / special mining lease holder)
- Issued by
- Bank of Papua New Guinea
- Valid for
- Annual (companies listed for 2024)
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: Central Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000, s.24
Appointment as authorised dealer in foreign exchange (National Gazette)
- Held by
- Authorised foreign-exchange dealer (commercial bank)
- Issued by
- Bank of Papua New Guinea
Primary lawBlockedLegal basis: Central Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000, s.2(1)(a)
Alluvial Mining Lease (AML)
AML instrument registered by the Registrar of Tenements
- Held by
- Alluvial miner (citizen landowner or land group; non-mechanised under Mining Act s.9 or holder of an alluvial mining lease)
- Issued by
- Minister for Mining, on MRA processing
- Valid for
- Up to 5 years, extendable (s.49)
- Fee
- Application fee PGK 250 (MRA Scheduled Fees)
Primary lawNot recordedLegal basis: Mining Act 1992, ss.48-51
Customs broker licence
- Held by
- Licensed customs broker
- Issued by
- PNG Customs Service
Official guidanceBlockedPerformance bond in favour of BPNG (min. K50,000)
- Held by
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Issued by
- Licensed commercial bank / insurer
- Valid for
- At least 24 months
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: BPNG Requirements for Gold Export Licence (2015)
Company incorporation and business registration (Investment Promotion Authority)
- Held by
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Issued by
- Investment Promotion Authority
Official guidanceBlockedResearcher's note: Issuer inferred: the BPNG requirements ask for a court-certified certificate of incorporation and business registration without naming the registry.
Mining Lease (alluvial)
- Held by
- Mechanised alluvial operator (mining lease holder, min. 51% national ownership)
- Issued by
- Minister for Mining, on MRA processing
- Valid for
- Up to 20 years, extendable by 10
- Fee
- Grant fee PGK 2,500-50,000 by area (MRA Scheduled Fees)
Official guidanceNot recordedLegal basis: Mining Act 1992, ss.38-47
Statutory right to non-mechanised alluvial mining on one's own land (no tenement)
None; proof of citizenship and customary land ownership in practice
- Held by
- Alluvial miner (citizen landowner or land group; non-mechanised under Mining Act s.9 or holder of an alluvial mining lease)
- Issued by
- None - arises by law (citizen natural person; land not under a tenement other than an exploration licence)
- Valid for
- While conditions met
Primary lawLegal basis: Mining Act 1992, s.9(2)
Special Mining Lease or Mining Lease (hard rock)
- Held by
- Large-scale mining company (mining lease / special mining lease holder)
- Issued by
- Head of State / Minister for Mining, on MRA processing
- Fee
- SML grant fee PGK 100,000 (MRA Scheduled Fees)
Primary lawNot recordedLegal basis: Mining Act 1992, ss.33-47
Tax File Number (TFN)
- Held by
- Licensed alluvial gold exporter (BPNG Gold Export Licence holder)
- Issued by
- Internal Revenue Commission
Official guidanceBlocked
Taxes and fees
Export duty on gold
- Rate
- None found (administrative fees only)
UnverifiedBlockedResearcher's note: No export duty on gold was found; Customs mentions only administrative fees before release. Customs Tariff schedule not read.
Gold Export Licence application fee
- Rate
- K5,000 per application (annual)
- Paid by
- Applicant exporter
- Collected by
- BPNG
Official guidanceBlockedMineral royalty
Mined product incl. doré and concentrate
- Rate
- 2%
- Base
- Free-on-board revenue or net smelter return, whichever is appropriate
- Paid by
- Mining lease / special mining lease holder
- Collected by
- State (via MRA); 20% of cash royalty paid direct to lease-area landholders, balance shared by agreement with provincial and local governments
Official guidanceNot recordedLegal basis: Mining Act 1992, s.148
Researcher's note: s.148 text not read (document truncated; PacLII blocked). Application to alluvial production not confirmed.
Alluvial Mining Lease application fee
- Rate
- PGK 250
- Paid by
- AML applicant
- Collected by
- MRA
Official guidanceNot recordedGoods and Services Tax
Domestic supplies; exports presumed zero-rated
UnverifiedBlockedNot recordedResearcher's note: GST Act not readable (PacLII 403, IRC JavaScript). DMPGM 2014 confirms zero-rating of supplies to resource companies; treatment of domestic gold sales and exports not verified (standard rate generally reported as 10%, exports zero-rated).
MRA production levy
- Rate
- 0.25% (2014) - 0.5% (statutory maximum; reported current rate 2025)
- Base
- Assessable income / value of production, incl. alluvial gold produced
- Paid by
- Producers
- Collected by
- Mineral Resources Authority (monthly)
Official guidanceNot recordedLegal basis: Mineral Resources Authority Act, s.30(3)-(4) per DMPGM 2014
Researcher's note: Rate reported as 0.25% in 2014 and 0.5% in 2025 secondary sources; current gazetted rate not read.
Controls
Dealers in precious metals are DNFBPs: risk-based CDD, enhanced CDD for PEPs, SMR within 5 working days, Threshold Transaction Report for cash or bearer instruments of K20,000 or more within 10 working days, international funds transfer reports of K20,000 or more, records for 7 years. FASU is the supervisor. BPNG Enhanced Due Diligence Guidelines apply to all gold dealings.
- Kind
- Anti-money laundering
- Threshold
- K20,000 cash (TTR)
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: AMLCTF Act 2015, ss.5, 20-29, 39, 47-50
Alluvial mining is reserved to PNG citizens (AML only for citizens/land groups; alluvial mining leases need 51% national ownership). The 2021 Alluvial Mining Policy extends the reservation to buying and exporting alluvial gold, with existing foreign operators exempted. Confirmed by the Mining Minister in Parliament in June 2026.
- Kind
- Other
Official guidanceNot recordedLegal basis: Mining Act 1992 s.48; Alluvial Mining Policy 2021
No person may take or send gold out of (or bring into) PNG without BPNG's written consent; alluvial gold, concentrates and gold compounds are a restricted export under Customs item 13B. In practice: annual Gold Export Licence plus a per-shipment authorisation (Form G) for consignments above K5,000; BPNG clearance plus assay report for K5,000 or less. Export must be on consignment.
- Kind
- Other
- Threshold
- K5,000 per consignment
Primary lawBlockedNot recordedLegal basis: Central Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000; Customs (Prohibited Exports) Regulation 1963, s.24; item 13B
Refining agreement must reference LBMA spot with a discount of no more than 2%; export sales in USD at LBMA spot.
- Kind
- Price control
Official guidanceBlockedLegal basis: BPNG Requirements and Operational Requirements for Gold Export Licence (2015)
All export proceeds must be received through an authorised dealer, repatriated and converted into kina: within 2 weeks of export for alluvial Gold Export Licence holders; within 3 months of shipment under FE Notice 6. Sales abroad in USD at LBMA spot. Mineral exporters may not use forward exchange contracts.
- Kind
- Currency control
- Threshold
- 2 weeks (alluvial GEL); 3 months (general)
Official guidanceBlockedNot recordedLegal basis: BPNG Operational Requirements (2015); FE Manual, FE 6.5, 17.5; FX Operational Guidelines 9.9.5
A person holding gold (other than for professional use) must sell it within one month to BPNG, an authorised dealer, or with written consent to a person outside PNG; only BPNG and authorised dealers may buy gold (s.26). BPNG's FE Manual nonetheless states domestic resident-to-resident gold trade is permitted without restriction.
- Kind
- Other
- Threshold
- 1 month from possession
Primary lawBlockedLegal basis: Central Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000, ss.25-26
Researcher's note: Whether an exemption under s.3 or a general authority reconciles ss.25-26 with FE Notice 17.3 was not found.
Travellers may take PNG or foreign currency up to K20,000; more needs BPNG authority on Form-C1 (with tax clearance, passport, ticket). Customs currency declaration system being rolled out, most advanced at Jacksons International Airport (APG 2024).
- Kind
- Cross-border declaration
- Threshold
- K20,000
Official guidanceBlockedNot recordedLegal basis: FE Manual FE Notice 8; Customs (Prohibited Exports) Regulation 1963, 8.5; item 13A
Trade flows
Alluvial sector: about 200,000 artisanal miners producing about 5,000 kg (c.120,000 oz) a year, worth about K640 million (Minister, 2024); about 250,000 miners and about 5% of K19 billion mineral exports in 2024 (Parliament, June 2026).
Figures: ~5 t/yr; ~5% of K19bn (2024)
Official guidanceNot recordedBPNG 2024 lists: 9 alluvial gold exporters (Enga Gold Exporter, GoldBox PNG, GoldCorp Exporters, Gold Exchange PNG, Golden Valley Enterprise, Huon Gold, Issacc Lete Lumbu Gold Buyers, Italpreziosi South Pacific, Mi-Do Gold Buyers & Exporters) and 6 mining companies (K92 Mining, Lihir Gold, Morobe Consolidated Goldfields, New Porgera, Simberi Gold, Woodlark Mining). 2020 notice named 8 alluvial exporters and 4 companies barred from exporting.
Official guidanceBlockedPorgera closed in April 2020 when its SML expired and reopened under New Porgera Ltd (51% PNG stakeholders, 49% Barrick Niugini) with first gold in early 2024.
SecondaryNot recorded
Where practice departs from the law
What credible sources show happening that the law does not provide for.
Regulation ss.25-26 restrict gold purchases to BPNG and authorised dealers and require holders to sell within a month, yet BPNG's own FE Manual and 2020 notice say domestic gold trade needs no BPNG authority; in practice rural gold buyers trade freely.
Official guidanceBlockedAlluvial mining and gold buying are reserved to citizens, but foreigners are commonly brought in as capital partners (Minister, June 2026).
SecondaryNot recordedpg.gold.tax-gel-fee states a Gold Export Licence application fee taken from a BPNG requirements source that is not held as text; both BPNG requirement texts held (the BPNG copy hosted by MRA and the MRA Mining Regulations page copy) say there is no fee for the Gold Export Licence. Which is current is not settled.
No confidence level recordedNo source recordedAPG 2024 mutual evaluation identifies cash and gold smuggling and trade-based laundering among PNG's laundering methods, and a currency declaration system not yet systematic.
StandardBlockedMRA (2024): extractives are about 80% of exports and 30-35% of GDP but state revenue is about 8% or less, prompting the Mining Bill and National Gold Corporation proposals.
Official guidanceNot recordedDeputy PM (June 2026): despite high gold prices and more alluvial activity, recorded exports fell, suggesting unaccounted trade and illegal export; MRA says alluvial gold is hard to control.
SecondaryNot recorded
What we could not obtain
Documents the research needed and could not get, where they might be, and why.
Text of the 2021 Alluvial Mining Policy.
- Missing document
- Alluvial Mining Policy
- Where it might be
- https://mra.gov.pg/wp-content/uploads/2022/05/Alluvial-Mining-Policy.pdf
- Why not obtained
- PDF without text layer
Whether royalty and levy are charged on alluvial gold sold via exporters, by whom and at what point.
- Why not obtained
- No source read addresses it
AMLCTF Act 2015 text (read only through FASU guidance).
- Missing document
- AMLCTF Act 2015
- Where it might be
- PacLII; bankpng.gov.pg
- Why not obtained
- PacLII blocked
- Affects
- pg.ctl-aml
No certificate of origin for gold exports was identified; the SAD states country of origin.
- Why not obtained
- Not mentioned in any source read
GL-Form 1-3 checklists and Form G / Form G2 templates.
- Missing document
- BPNG GL-Forms, Form G, Form G2
- Where it might be
- https://www.bankpng.gov.pg/financial-markets/exchange-control
- Why not obtained
- Listed on the page without links
- Affects
- pg.dk-form-gpg.dk-form-g2
GST rate and treatment of gold.
- Missing document
- Goods and Services Tax Act 2003
- Where it might be
- PacLII; IRC
- Why not obtained
- PacLII 403; IRC site JavaScript only
- Affects
- pg.tax-gst
Per-mine product form (doré/concentrate), export routes and refiners.
- Why not obtained
- Company pages not reached (404 / cache-only)
Whether the Mining Bill 2025 was enacted by 22 Sep 2026.
- Where it might be
- parliament.gov.pg; DMPGM; National Gazette
- Why not obtained
- Search budget exhausted; no 2026 source found reporting enactment
Whether an MRA mineral export permit is needed for gold in addition to BPNG authority.
- Where it might be
- MRA; PNG Customs
- Why not obtained
- Customs page generic; no MRA document found
- Affects
- pg.st-15
Text of Mining Act s.148 (royalty rate, base, payer, collector) and the Mining Regulation 1992.
- Missing document
- Mining Act 1992 s.148; Mining Regulation 1992
- Where it might be
- http://www.paclii.org/pg/legis/consol_act/ma1992103/; MRA PDF
- Why not obtained
- PacLII 403; MRA PDF truncated by the fetch
- Affects
- pg.tax-royaltypg.st-31
Routes through Papua New Guinea
Country pairs
Sources
Every source this country's research cites, with how much of it was read and how.
- BPNG/FASU Guidance No.1 of 2019 for Financial Institutions on their obligations under the AMLCTF Act 2015Open the sourceBlockedNot statedFinancial Analysis and Supervision Unit, Bank of PNG
- BPNG Foreign Exchange Manual (December 2023) - FE Notices 2, 6, 8, 17, 23Open the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea
- APG Mutual Evaluation Report - Papua New Guinea (September 2024)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedAsia/Pacific Group on Money Laundering
- Ministry of Mining - Ministerial update on the mining sector (c. Feb-Mar 2024)Open the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- MRA - Permitting (types of tenement)Open the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- Mining Act 1992 (PacLII consolidated)Open the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- The National - Alluvial mining reserved for citizens: Minister (10 Jun 2026)Open the sourceNot recordedNot statedThe National
- Caritas PNG - Mining gold in Papua New Guinea (9 Apr 2025)Open the sourceNot recordedNot statedCaritas PNG
- Central Banking (Foreign Exchange and Gold) Regulation 2000Open the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea
- Customs (Prohibited Exports) Regulation 1963 [Chapter 101B]Open the sourceNot recordedTextPNG Customs Service · Read 2026-09-29T17:32:01Z
- BPNG - Requirements for Gold Export Licence (approved 23 Nov 2015)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea
- BPNG - Operational Requirements for Gold Export Licence (approved 17 Nov 2015)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea
- BPNG Administrative and Operational Guidelines for the Foreign Exchange Market (December 2023)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea
- BPNG Directive 10/2024 on Foreign Exchange Orders (effective 28 Oct 2024)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea
- US ITA Country Commercial Guide - Papua New Guinea trade financingOpen the sourceNot recordedNot statedUS International Trade Administration
- MRA - Alluvial Mining Policy (PDF)Open the sourceNot recordedOCRto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- BPNG - List of Alluvial Gold Exporters 2024Open the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea
- BPNG Public Notice - List of Licensed Gold Exporters (25 Sep 2020), as reproduced by MarketScreenerOpen the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea (reprint on MarketScreener)
- Bank of Papua New Guinea — Requirements for Gold Export LicenceOpen the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- BPNG - List of Licensed Mining Companies 2024 (gold export licence)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea
- BPNG - Gold Export Licence requirements (older version hosted by MRA; undated)Open the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- MRA - State revenue does not reflect mineral export volume, law reform is needed (16 May 2024)Open the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- EITI - Papua New Guinea country pageOpen the sourceNot recordedNot statedEITI International Secretariat
- Bank of PNG - Exchange Control page (gold export licensing documents, lists of licensed exporters, FX legislation and directives)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedBank of Papua New Guinea
- PNG Customs Service - Prohibited/restricted exports listOpen the sourceBlockedNot statedPNG Customs Service
- Allens - Wide-ranging reforms to overhaul PNG mining sector (Mar 2025)Open the sourceNot recordedNot statedAllens
- Business Advantage PNG - Papua New Guinea's draft Mining Bill: sweeping reforms (2025)Open the sourceNot recordedNot statedBusiness Advantage PNG
- The National - Bill on mining to be tabled (6 Mar 2025)Open the sourceNot recordedNot statedThe National
- PNG Business News - Public consultation on Mining Bill 2025 launched (25 Feb 2025)Open the sourceNot recordedNot statedPNG Business News
- Business Advantage PNG - Proposed National Gold Corporation Bill opposed by industry (2024)Open the sourceNot recordedNot statedBusiness Advantage PNG
- MRA - PM Hon Marape on the National Gold Corporation Bill (16 May 2024)Open the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- MRA - Minister Dilu to present stakeholders' views on the proposed National Gold Corporation (16 May 2024)Open the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- Wikipedia - Porgera Gold MineOpen the sourceNot recordedNot statedWikipedia
- PNG Customs Service - Export proceduresOpen the sourceBlockedNot statedPNG Customs Service
- DMPGM - Papua New Guinea mining fiscal regime, submission to the Tax Review Committee (June 2014)Open the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- Mineral Resources Authority Act 2005 (certified copy)Open the sourceNot recordedOCRto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- MRA - Launch of Resource Evaluation Code of Practice for alluvial mining (Sep 2024)Open the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- MRA - Scheduled FeesOpen the sourceNot recordedTextto confirm · Read 2026-09-28
Missing from this copy: not yet checked
- Customs Act 1951 (current to January 2021)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedPNG Customs Service
- Goods and Services Tax Act 2003 (PacLII)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedPacLII
- Business Advantage PNG - Amendments to PNG's Mining Act provide for State to take a more active role (17 Jun 2020); and Analysis of amendments (10 Jun 2020)Open the sourceNot recordedNot statedBusiness Advantage PNG
- Mining (Amendment) Act 2020 (Parliament of PNG)Open the sourceBlockedNot statedNational Parliament of PNG
- Internal Revenue Commission websiteOpen the sourceBlockedNot statedInternal Revenue Commission